About Yoga

Yoga is a Sanskrit word meaning unite and describes the link between body, breath and mind. 


Hatha Yoga is physical and breath training  to build strenth, flexibility and focus. There are many styles but all are based on the Hatha Yoga Pradipika of Swatmarama written in the 15th centrury. Practices include:

Asana - Posture - Balances strength and flexibility for general health.

Pranayama - Breath - builds lung capacity and lowers heart rate.

Bhanda - Core - Supports the spine and improves balance.

Dharana - Mindfulness - Alleviates stress and builds concentration


Raja Yoga is the mental and spiritual practice described in The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali. Its purpose is citta-vṛtti-nirodhaḥ - cessation of the pertubations of the mind

Print Print | Sitemap
© Carolyn Horrocks

This website was created using IONOS MyWebsite.